Yoko Kanno Week #4

As our Yoko Kanno featurette stretches into its second week and Leventine begins to wonder what exactly he pays me for, we’ll be taking a look at a few metal and rock pieces. Now, I’m generally not a metal fan but when it happens for me, it happens. I am  generally a rock fan, but it’s hard to admit that in a world where Kings of Leon are apparently the best rock has to offer me. Kanno, as usual, transcended all that snobby elitism and just wrote some badass tracks.

If you’ve been following our Kanno posts, you’ll recall I mentioned some of her music seems to be written in languages I wasn’t able to place. Blogger dblbassclef pointed out that she tends to make up her own languages for her music when it suits her. When he said that, LIVE in Baghdad was the song that immediately came to mind. Turns out, this song is actually in english. Legit guys, multiple lyric sites confirm this. This track is from Cowboy Bebop and was written for the episode Heavy Metal Queen which featured one of the most badass lady characters to ever be animated.
VT bebop

This is her jam:
Cowboy Bebop OST II NO DISC- LIVE in Baghdad

The next track is from Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex. This series as a whole, as well as the film that pioneered it, had a heavy hand in my development of a taste in electronic and ambient music. We’ll get to that later though. For now, we’ll focus on one of the more vanilla tracks from the original score. Not to detract from it or anything. Seriously, if you are down for an old-school, way-too-long shredder, Yakitori has got what you need baby.
Ghost in the Shell Stand Alone Complex OST I: Yakitori

There have been a lot of Cowboy Bebop OST releases, due to the sheer volume of music Kanno wrote for the series.  Papa Plastic is from the final and briefest of the albums. The vocalist for this track is listed as Gabriela Robin, who has frequently sung in Kanno tracks and in actuality is Kanno herself.  Though she has never expressly stated this, she has used Gabriela as her alter ego for years and the evidence is conclusive as of the Super Dimensional Star Festival Sonic in 2009 when Kanno sang a Gabriela Robin song live.
Cowgirl Ed OST- Papa Plastic

GabrielaRobin

“Gabriela Robin”

Stay tuned for the rest of our two week Yoko Kanno week.

-Pont

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Yoko Kanno Week #4

  1. suchstrangecandy says:

    I’m pretty certain I flailed like a little kid who just opened the -big- Christmas present, when I ran across the Kanno posts while I was poking around here. She is my favorite composer for the virtue of sheer diversity, and her amazing ability to master every genre. I haven’t heard anything of hers I didn’t immediately love, but one of my favorites is ‘Rain’ from ‘Cowboy Bebop’. I love Ghost In the Shell SAC, and Kids on the Slope.. Wolf’s Rain was wonderful, but I want to watch it again. It’s been a while, and I need soundtracks for the latter two still. I could go on, but I think I’ve rambled on with more than enough. =) Thanks for the music! You have fabulous taste. 😉

    • E.Leventine says:

      your taste is equally fabulous, obviously! I’m glad my fangirl gushing reached such a worthy audience. I too LOVE rain, but the female vocalist version only, that dude’s voice is not my bag. Along those kanno ballad lines, I also love “blue”. So nostalgic! Thanks for the peek at our blog. I’ll return the favor c:

      • suchstrangecandy says:

        haha, that’s so funny! I enjoy the male’s version a lot. Ah well, it takes all sorts, and I’m usually the odd sort, eh? =) “Blue” is fabulous! She’s positively goosebump inducing (when I’m not chair dancing.. heavens forbid, doing some frenetic jazz scat improvised thing, to ‘Tank’).

        Have a wonderful day, and thanks for visiting! – L

      • E.Leventine says:

        Chair dancing is the only acceptable way to dance to Yoko, you did good! Cheers!

  2. […] here are the first six parts so you can catch up: #1 (Intro) #2 (Jazz and Blues) #3 (Classical) #4 (Rock and Metal) #5 (Electronic and Ambient) #6 (Pop Music and […]

Leave a Reply

