MashUp March: Shine Bright

I have a fondness for pop music my cooler friends will never understand. Having said that, I can also be a harsh critic, because I have certain expectations of it. It has to amuse me. I don’t go to pop music looking for deep meaning or new ideas. I just want fun.

2012 was not a great year in pop music for me. I didn’t hate most of it (it was no 2001-02), but it did reek of Taylor Swift’s emotional insecurity and lazy, invasive Dubstep. With that in mind, it’s particularly impressive that DJ Earworm still turned out one of his best yearly mashups to date. Since 2007, the San-Fran based DJ has taken the chart topping songs of the year and fused them into a single cohesive track.

It’s an interesting exercise; it speaks as much to DJ Earworm’s imagination as it does to the blandness of today’s pop. Exactly how easy was it, I wonder, to combine these songs to make it sound better than all of them individually? Maybe not as hard as you think, considering how many 2012 hits featured the word “tonight” in a leading role. Oh well, it’s still a great track, I can dance to it: PASS.
DJ Earworm: United States of Pop 2012 (Shine Bright)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

