MashUp March: Ghostwriter

More mashup March, because fuck April.

I hope it’s not too obvious that I try to skim a little below the surface when I choose feature tracks for Leventine, but I do. I try to avoid redundancy, and although most mashup fans (and trip hop fans) will have heard this track, it needs to me mentioned.

Ghostwriter by RJD2 is a bit of an abstract mashup. I had one of those moments when I first heard it, I stopped everything I was doing and played it three times in a row. It wasn’t until I started researching its artist that I realized I had heard bits and pieces of the song before. Specifically, Elliot Smith and Paul Desmond. Here is a great blog article that breaks this song down in terms of sampling.

The real achievement here is how unique Ghostwriter sounds, despite being a Frankenstein of other music. Almost like the source tracks had a baby. It has Elliott Smiths eyes, The Delfonics’ hair, Paul Desmond’s smooth charm, but it still has its own identity and will always have a nostalgic place in my heart.

-Pont

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

